This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Go to bag

My Library Bag

Requests (0)

SEND TO LIBRARY

My years with the Queen : and other stories

ISBN: 9781529148862
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Ebury Spotlight
Origin: GB
Release Date: February, 2024

Book Details

An intimate and nostalgic portrait of the Queen from her childhood friend, bridesmaid and former lady-in-waiting, for fans of Anne Glenconner and Angela Kelly She is simply Lilibet to me, childhood friend and closest confidante. ‘The Queen looked so frail, just this one young woman. Seeing her, utterly alone, I wondered how she’d have the strength to undertake this duty all her life.’ Lady Pamela has been by the Queen’s side for some of the most important moments of her life. As a Mountbatten, she is a descendant of the rulers of the Grand Duchy of Hesse, in Germany. First cousin to the late Duke of Edinburgh and second cousin to the Queen, Lady Pamela has had the lifelong privilege of knowing them simply as Philip and Lilibet. It was this close relationship which led to her becoming the monarch’s bridesmaid and later, her lady-in-waiting. During those crucial years in the Queen’s life, Pamela was there to support her through her wedding, the death of her father, King George VI, and her subsequent Coronation. During this time, Lady Pamela attended several overseas royal tours alongside the Queen and Duke. With front-seat access, she documented her experience in her own private diary, some of the contents of which she shares here for the very first time. My Years with the Queen is a celebratory, intimate and deeply personal story of a wonderful time in Lady Pamela’s life, as well as an unequalled portrait of the Queen from one of her oldest friends.